Facebook Twitter YouTube

USTA >  Directors Home >   District >   Director

District 8A (Chairperson)
Joseph A. Faraldo
Joseph A. Faraldo
Joseph A. Faraldo

Joe Faraldo is chairperson of the board of the USTA as well as chairperson of USTA District 8A and a member of the association’s Harness Racing Medication Collaborative. He is a 30-plus-year member of the USTA board and has also been president and CEO of the Standardbred Owners Association of New York since 1980. He started in harness racing in 1966 as an owner. A graduate of St. John’s school of law and a practicing attorney, he has long been an advocate of horsemen’s rights in the courts and argued the only harness racing case ever heard in the U.S. Supreme Court. He was twice honored as SOA “Man of the Year.” He helped the passage of slot legislation in New York which created a renaissance in New York racing. He helped foster and implement global wagering on Yonkers products, initiating international sales with LeTrot and assisted with the return of the International Trot afer a 20-year hiatus. Faraldo also oversees the administration of Welfare and Retirement Funds of the SOA for all eligible participants which proudly includes caretakers. He was the founder and is a director of the North American Amateur Driver’s Association. The National Amateur Driver in 1997, he was the U.S. representative to the World Amateur Driver’s Championships in 1998. He is a two-time Billings amateur driving champ. He successfully conducted the World Cup for Amateurs once again in the U.S. in 2008, with the cooperation of track managements at Balmoral, Maywood, Freehold, Yonkers, Monticello and the Meadowlands. In 1994, he was selected as Harness Horsemen International’s “Man of the Year,” and in 2001 received that organization’s Appreciation Award. He received the 2003 Lifetime Achievement Award and the 2011 Excelsior Award, presented by the Monticello-Goshen Chapter of the U.S. Harness Writers Association. He was nominated for USHWA’s Proximity Award and received that organization’s 2007 President’s Award. He served as USTA chairperson of the board from 2003-2007 and was a recipient of 2015 USTA President’s Award.

125-10 Queens Blvd, Suite #12
Kew Gardens, NY 11415
Phone: 718-544-6800 - Fax: 718-544-0033 [Email]
TERM EXPIRES: 2025 (Membership Director)